Brooklyn-based electronic pop trio Wet have announced via Twitter that their highly anticipated debut album, Don’t You, will be released on January 29 through Columbia Records.

Preceding the announcement is the release of a vulnerable new single, “Weak”, which you can stream below. Like previous album singles “Deadwater” and “You’re the Best”, the song features singer Kelly Zutrau’s pained vocals wrapped in tight percussion, sparse textures, and R&B-influenced guitar. The band sounds as confident as ever on their thrilling new single, with a triumphant string arrangement lifting up Zutrau’s pleas for a departing lover to stay.

Wet is comprised by Zutrau and multi-instrumentalists Joe Valle and Marty Sulkow; they have steadily been gaining popularity and critical recognition since the release of their self-titled debut EP in the autumn of 2013. Their fearlessly intimate ruminations on love and loss have resulted in millions of plays on Spotify and tours supporting bands like CHVRCHES and London Grammar, appealing to fans of various genres—equal parts R&B, pop, indie rock, and hip-hop.

The band relocated to Western Massachussetts in 2014 in search of a more serene setting in which to write and record Don’t You. The album will feature 11 tracks that are sure to be just as emotionally evocative and cathartic as Wet’s previous material.

Article by Brendan Gibson



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.